A memory

My grandfather, who is still alive and 88 years old and still going strong, likes to reminisce about playing hide and seek with me.  I can’t wait to see him – we’re going back to Buffalo, where I grew up, right after Christmas and staying a week.

Here are his two favorites.

When I was 3 or 4, we’d play hide and seek.  My grandparents had this cabinet/end table, where they kept the 3-4 bottles of liquor they had in the house.  I fit in it quite perfectly at that age, so I’d take all the bottles out, climb in and close the door.   He was always good enough to pretend he couldn’t find me.

I’d also hide in pretty good spots — behind the couch was a favorite.  He’d walk around, ‘looking’ for me, and would say, “Hmm, I wonder where Lisa is hiding?” and I would say from my spot behind the couch, “I don’t know, but don’t look behind the couch!”

I love hearing him talk about that because you can tell how fond those memories are for him, and it just makes me feel so loved and special to hear him talk so happily about time we’d spent together.  It makes my heart smile.

My grandpa’s just wonderful.  I hope he’ll be around for a few more Christmases.  I’d love my kids to have some memories of him.

Leave a Reply

