A Week of Waffles

We got home from Buffalo, waffle iron in hand, on New Year’s Day.

Every day but one, I have made waffles for breakfast. The novelty simply hasn’t gotten old yet.

There are a few things I have learned about making waffles with these numerous, closely-timed waffle-making experiences under my belt.

  1. I really, really, really love waffles.  I already knew I loved waffles, but the fact that I have eaten them six out of the last seven days has added the “really, really, really” to that statement.
  2. Thicker waffle batter usually means a more solid waffle. This new waffle iron has really deep pockets, and if the batter’s too thin, the strength of the soft waffle interior is not enough to overcome the tackiness of the outer waffle to the waffle iron surface. You end up sort of gutting your waffle.  It does not render the waffle inedible, thank goodness, but it’s certainly not as pretty.  Thus, thicker batter is better.  It’s been challenging to figure out the correct batter consistency, and I haven’t quite mastered it yet, but this is mostly because I am a maverick in the kitchen and it pains me to be exact with measurements.
  3. Pam spray is your friend.
  4. I need to buy a set of wooden tongs for getting the waffles out and onto the plate. I started out using a metal fork and quickly realized that was, in a word, stupid. So I switched to a wooden fork we have, but wooden tongs would be an ideal tool. It is my mission this week to find a good pair. I’m thinking Williams Sonoma is probably a good place to start, but the cheapskate in me will check out Target first.
One response to “A Week of Waffles

  1. Because I love you, I’ll share with you my very favorite, go-to waffle recipe. It’s a hodgepodge of a few different recipes and adjusted over time, and one of the few recipes that I remember to keep track of the changes. I make it about once a month, and have a deep-pocket waffle iron myself (though mine doesn’t beep at me… which is intentional, because beeping irritates me when I can hear it). It serves about 6-8 people, depending on how hungry they are…

    BUTTERMILK WAFFLES a la Kate
    4 1/2 cups flour
    1/2 tsp. baking soda
    1 TBSP. baking powder
    2 TBSP. plus 1-2 tsp. white sugar
    1 tsp. salt
    (1 tsp. cinnamon or nutmeg if desired)
    5 egg yolks
    4 cups buttermilk
    2 sticks butter (yes, 2), melted
    5 egg whites

    Sift flour before measuring, then sift again with baking soda, baking powder, sugar and salt.
    In separate bowl, beat egg yolks until light, then add and beat buttermilk and butter.
    Combine egg mixture and flour; mix just until well-blended.
    In separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff but not dry, then very gently fold them in with the rest. Bake happily and overeat.

    Batter will keep overnight, but if I’m making it for the next morning I keep the egg whites out until the last second.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

