I’m not frugal

I know a few people who are awesome at frugality.

I’m not.

I can take advantage of a good deal with the best of them, for sure.  I buy in bulk when prudent.  I only buy cereal on sale.  I try to buy most of my produce at our local produce mart, which is not only cheaper but has better quality stuff.

Someone smart told me that even rich people can get on a budget.  Not that I’m rich, but I should probably do the budget thing.  As I’ve mentioned before, I recently quit my 9-5, well-paying, Fortune 100 company career/job/lifestyle and am staying home with my two babes.  It’s wonderful and I wouldn’t trade it for a second.  But we’re shopping for a house, and even with the help promised by my in-laws to buy one, the one we’re looking at, right next door to my in-laws’ house (oh and that is a post in itself)… the cost of it is giving me heart palpitations.  We’ll have a serious hunk of our monthly income going toward housing costs.  Vacations will not be an option over the next couple years unless someone (a.k.a. my in-laws) picks up the tab.  My husband’s moving up in the actuary world and the truth of the matter is that in a few years, the house that gives me palpitations will most likely be quite affordable then.  But for some time, it’s going to be tight.  I may have to pick up a part-time gig to help.  But I’ll definitely need to budget, and rein in my spending.  I like to shop.  I often need to shop, as I have two kids that grow like weeds, it seems.

Jake didn’t get into 12 month sized clothes that long ago, and damned if he isn’t already showing signs of outgrowing some of the stuff already.  Normally this would have me dropping a couple hundred dollars in the nearest Old Navy… not this time!  My PaidTwice pal would be proud… I found two lots of clothes on eBay, that will essentially clothe him for the entire summer, including swimsuits but not including pajamas,  for a grand total including shipping of $36.  Not shabby… and neither are the clothes.  They don’t even look used.

I’ve done used clothes off eBay before, but I need to do it more.  I also have to check out the consignment store circuit in our area and see what deals are to be had.  I simply can’t afford to drop serious coin on kids’ clothes any longer… not if we are going to live in the house we want to live in.

5 responses to “I’m not frugal

  1. It’s fun over here on the darkside 🙂

  2. Suddenly I’m thankful that my #2 was another girl. She spent a nanosecond in size 12 month clothes and is now already wearing the size 18m that were waiting on deck from her sister. Hey Jake’s young, I doubt he would mind wearing pink sweatpants once in awhile. 😉

  3. Good job!! I think Ebay is going to be a good friend of mine again…

  4. Hey thanks for the mention!

    Good job on the bargain. 🙂 And I am smart, heh.

Leave a Reply

