Who said they could grow up?

Lane amazes me nearly every day.

Lately, we’ve found the bedtime ‘routine’ that works best is simply to ask her to get herself into bed, give her permission to turn on her bedside light and tell her she can look at as many books as she likes, then turn off her light whenever she’s ready.

She nearly always picks out about seven or eight books to page through, does this in 10-15 minutes, and then turns the light out and is asleep soon afterwards.

It is just such a grown-up way to do bedtime. It’s how *I* do bedtime most nights. Sigh.

In other news, Jake is 11 months old today. My goodness, where does the time go? He’s got such a vibrant personality, it just makes my heart smile. He is almost constantly happy and giggly. He loves singing, and has started to participate in singing “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” by saying “ro ro ro ro ro ro”. We also add a second verse:

Rock, rock, rock your boat, gently down the stream.

If you see a crocodile, don’t forget to scream! [scream here]

Jake highly anticipates the scream. Gets downright giddy and acts completely impatient if you sing the second verse but leave out the scream.

And he’s walking. Not as his primary mode of transportation, though I suspect by his first birthday he’ll be tooling around all bipedal. For now, he’s stringing together four or five steps at a time, and is just pleased as punch with himself.

Of course, as generally comes with most developmental milestones – and walking is a biggie – he’s not much interested in going to sleep. He fell asleep at 8:00 p.m., and I erroneously thought he was going to bed a little early. Oh no, silly Mommy, that was just a nap. He’s now sitting awake on the couch with his daddy as I write this. Yeah, it’s 1:00 a.m. I tried getting him to sleep a half-hour ago and he’d have nothing to do with it. He must have thought I was pretty funny to try, because all he did was laugh at me.

5 responses to “Who said they could grow up?

  1. The time does go all too fast! Way to go kiddos!

  2. LOL My older daughter taught me the Rock Rock Rock your Boat version (I had not heard it before) and my younger has the same reaction as Jake does. It’s hilarious. She loooves the scream.

  3. Sigh. They do grow faster than they have any right to. But in such a fun way that it just creates all sorts of ambivalence and confusion… you want them to grow, but just not quite yet.

  4. Tell little man to slow down!!! Sigh, it doesn’t seem like he should be one month from turning 1.

  5. Aww, Jake sounds so cute! I can just imagine him screaming at the end of that verse. I love happy babies.

    It sounds like you’re having a fantastic time raising your children, and you’re really good at it!

Leave a Reply

