Oh, this isn’t good

Arctic ice-cap melting faster than anyone predicted

This whole climate change really has me freaked out and sad and just feeling so impotent.  So often it feels like the changes that could make any sort of difference are so expensive and lofty and I just don’t want it to all be so hard!

I came across an article that sums up pretty well the feelings.  Basically, there’s a grief process that goes along with accepting climate change.  I feel like I’m right in the middle of it.

But I’m trying, I really am.  We bought reusable grocery bags for shopping, and we buy biodegradable pooper-scooper bags for cleaning up after Bailey, our golden retriever.  Frank’s next car will nearly certainly be a hybrid, assuming we can put off buying a different car for him for at least a couple years and can find a good deal on a used one.

But reading that whole arctic ice-cap thing has me really bummed, especially because I love polar bears.  Who wouldn’t love polar bears?!?  They are fluffy and cute and they could rip your heart out with one swipe of a paw.  They are magnificent.

As you may or may not be aware, polar bears need ice.  Without the Arctic Ocean all frozen and stuff, their hunting territory shrinks.  They cannot hunt.  And they die.

So I am left to wonder — what can I do, TOMORROW, to help the polar bears?  Something small, something fairly effortless, something tangible but without hardship?  Let’s see.  I know, I’ll lower my thermostat.  It’s chilly in these parts, but surely I can survive with my house’s thermostat at 66 tomorrow instead of 68.  If we get cold, we own sweaters.  And I was thinking of going to the mall anyway, as it is the last day of Old Navy’s killer post-holiday 75% off clearance sale, so if we go, I will be sure to lower the thermostat all the way down to 60.

I know it’s small.  I wish it could be bigger.  But I am but one person and for tomorrow, this is my best.

2 responses to “Oh, this isn’t good

  1. It won’t help now, but in your next house – we have a digital/programmable thermostat, which I looooove. It remembers to go down to 60 during the days we’re not home, remembers to warm up just before we wake up and in the evenings, and knows to turn it down to 66 overnight. And it’s easy to override on the days when I’m unexpectedly home with a sick toddler.

  2. We have one here, and I completely agree that they are awesome. It is actually programmed to be at 60 during the day, since we go out about half the time and we don’t ever remember to turn it down. But once it hits noon and we’re cold, I jack it up to 68 or 69, then at some point in the evening hit the “run program” button again. I just was figuring instead of jacking it to 68, I’d jack it to 66 and put on a sweater.

    Did you know they have ones where you can program them for every day of the week differently?

Leave a Reply

