Syrup snobbery

I’ve talked previously about my waffle addiction.  To sum up mostly because I’m too lazy to link to past entries, we got a smokin’ new waffle iron for Christmas and it is being used heavily.  Granted we’re having waffles 2-3 days a week now, vs. the 6-7 days a week we were averaging right after Christmas (and sometimes more than once a day) but the waffle addiction continues.

I’m still using the just-add-water waffle batter, since the frequent waffle-making requires a mix that doesn’t otherwise become too labor-intensive.  We are using a giant bag from Costco with much success, making the batter just slightly thicker than the recipe suggests.  In the name of nutrition, I do usually add something to the batter.  Usually it’s wheat germ or flaxseed meal, or when I’m feeling wild and crazy, both.  Often, I run some frozen blueberries through a food mill and add those.  Lane claims she doesn’t like blueberries but she sure seems to love her some blueberry-flavored waffles.  I’ve tried banana pancakes on her and she would have nothing to do with them, which is weird to me because she loves pancakes, and she loves bananas.  Bananas and pancake batter, however, must fuel an as-of-yet-undocumented-by-science chemical reaction, thus rendering the final product completely abhorrent to her taste buds.  I thought they tasted good though.  Regardless, I won’t attempt mashed banana in the waffles for that reason, though I suspect it might taste good and would be a fine way to use up some overripe bananas.  Well, maybe I’ll try it anyway.  I do buy the waffle batter mix for nine cents a hectare at Costco.

When it comes to toppings, we eschew fruits and powdered sugar and whipped cream and go for the traditional butter and syrup approach.

I buy Olivio brand spreadable butter, which is just butter with some olive oil mixed in, because I’m not a fan of tearing apart my waffle (or bread or pancake or English muffin, etc.) just to get a little butter on it.  I suppose if I were more frugal I could create such a simple concoction myself, but I don’t have the patience, and my KITCHENAID STAND MIXER is in storage, without which I would not even attempt such a feat.  Maybe I will once I have it back, when we’re in a house.

As far as syrup… well.  A small part of me wants to be a syrup snob, reveling in real maple syrup and dismissing the stuff that’s not real syrup as sub par.  Alas, try as I have, I simply love me some maple-flavored high fructose corn syrup goodness.  Log Cabin is good, Mrs. Butterworth is to die for.  The super-diet low-cal stuff is always gross, but for me the “lite” syrups are close enough that I can tolerate the minor taste deficiency for half the calories.

That isn’t to say I don’t enjoy the real thing.  It’s good, and I’ll use it.  I respect it and revere it for lending its flavor to the artificial stuff.  We gave away little bottles of maple syrup as favors at our wedding.  We had a maple tree that ran sap at our old house, and I considered seeing if I could tap it and make my own syrup, just for fun.  (Yeah, I know, sort of weird… but I also on-and-off entertain the idea of beekeeping as a hobby, and am semi-seriously considering setting up a hive once we’re in a house.)

But given the choice, I will bow at the altar of Mrs. Butterworth every day of the week and twice on Sunday.

2 responses to “Syrup snobbery

  1. Ah, see, once I went to the real deal, there was no turning back. I am in fact out of maple syrup and have therefore been waffle-less this week because I haven’t made it to Costco .

  2. Blasphemy! Real deal is the ONLY way to go.

Leave a Reply

