No idea where this is going

So today was Valentine’s Day.  Meh.  Frank and I don’t really celebrate it; I bought him a card for it like four years ago that I keep meaning to give to him one of these days; some Valentine’s Day he is going to get the cutest card.   Just not this year.

And he is still sick.  He was well enough today to drag himself into work.  But he took three days off after being essentially out of work the whole week before due to completing his final assessment.  Three sick days is unheard of for him… he’s the guy that everyone in the office has to tell, “Will you PLEASE go home!?!?”  So he was really really sick.  And still recovering.  Needless to say, there is no need for us to do any sort of ‘celebrating’ today.

Not that I didn’t use the day as a feeble excuse to have a little bit of fun.  I had like a glass and a half of merlot tonight, and Lane and I made brownies today.  Mmmm brownies.  With walnuts.  And they’re just a touch undercooked.  Yum.  I really wanted to put chocolate chips in them, too, but apparently there is some sort of wrinkle in the space-time continuum in my pantry, and there were no chocolate chips to be found.  Well, that is not accurate.  There were white chocolate chips.  And I couldn’t decide if white chocolate chips in brownies with walnuts would be decadently good or completely awful, so I erred on the side of leaving them out.

My friend Kate makes this creation called Chewy Gooeys.  They are kind of like brownies… except gooier and chewier and caramely and awesome.  Kate lives in New Hampshire, and I live in NY state, so I’ve only had the pleasure of Chewy Gooeys a la Kate a couple of times, which I am grateful for.  It’s probably pretty amazing I’ve gotten to have them at all, given she’s a friend I found online.  She does have the honor of being the only online friend who’s ever been to my house.  Though we’ve been talking about a rendez-vous somewhere around Worcester, MA sometime in the next couple of months so fingers-crossed maybe I’ll get them again… though I really shouldn’t be asking for anything, given that she sent me a very very pretty birthday present.  And tongs.  Don’t get me wrong, the tongs were pretty too, as far as tongs go.  But the scarf is stunning.  (Seriously Kate — I do like the tongs too!!)

As you can see, Kate knits.  And for some reason, Kate likes me enough to have bestowed (bestown?)  multiple fruits of her labor on me.  I am in constant awe of the gorgeous things that come off her needles, even if they aren’t for me.

I think it’s become something she used to do, but my best friend Amanda, who I did get to know in real life, went through a knitting phase too, and I have a gorgeous baby blanket and a sweater/hat/booties set from her as well.

Knitting is cool, and I always find myself envious of those who can do it and do it well.

I’ve sort of on-and-off tried teaching myself to knit.  I can cast on well enough, and do a knit stitch pretty effortlessly, but then I try to purl and I feel like a complete moron.  Kate, when she first started knitting, just knit a whole bunch of practice squares and then sewed them all together to make a blanket.  I’m thinking I’m just going to do the same.  I’ve got a few balls and/or skeins of yarn about from past knitting forays, so I’m just going to knit.  A little here, a little there, and damn it, I WILL FIGURE OUT HOW TO PURL IF IT IS THE END OF ME!!

I don’t have any big knitting aspirations.  I’d love to be able to make hats.  I love winter hats.  Scarves are pretty cool, too.  I’m not sure I have the patience or stick-to-it-ivness to handle an adult-sized sweater, but never say never.  And it sure would be fun to put together a baby blanket or two as my friends procreate.

(When I was making quilts I made a couple for friends who got married… as fun as that was, I’ve never seen one of my quilts out in the open in their homes.  Hmmm.  Did they have to use the quilt to start a fire one day when their heat went out?  Was the quilt kidnapped?  I feel too silly to ask.  I wonder if baby blankets would have the same fate.)

5 responses to “No idea where this is going

  1. Chewy gooeys can be arranged. Have I mentioned that Gretchen and I are planning to take the kids to Rhinebeck this year? So at the very least, that’s on the calendar… but I still have lots of weekends between now and then for chewy gooey distribution (oh, and socializing, too).

    I’m all for dragging anyone else into the knitting obsession – one less person on the streets doing crack, at least as long as they’re knitting. I realized I have kind of drowned you in knitwear in recent years, and I think it’s because in this world there are people who seem like they will enjoy receiving handknit things and there are people who seem like they will view it as a cop-out or, worse, tacky. You fit in the first bunch, for whatever reason.

    Purling. For one thing, you don’t need to purl – you can knit every row and that’s called garter stitch. For another, knittinghelp.com has little videos that show how to do things, and I used it heavily when I started. For a third, there’s knitty.com which is an online magazine and has a message board attached. For a fourth, OK, yeah, I’ll stop now.

    🙂

  2. Kate, don’t you dare think for a second that I don’t love the immersion in knitwear. I have giggled with glee at every package’s arrival. I show them off to Frank and exclaim “LOOK WHAT KATE SENT!!” and he goes, “Umm, OK.” He apparently falls in group #2. 🙂

    I have found that the tutorials at theyarnco.com speak to me pretty well. Where other things I look at and go, um, WHAT? That site has always given me my a-ha. So after I finish knitting this square of knit-only, I’m going to do a square of purl-only and I will persevere, and hopefully that site will help me. But if it can’t I will check out other things too. I will simply not let myself be limited to one stitch! I WILL TRIUMPH!!

    And you did mention Rhinebeck. [whiny voice] but that’s so far away!! [/whiny voice]

  3. Far away is all relative. We’re planning to rent a hotel room and make a weekend of it. Alpacas, beware.

  4. The quilt you gave us is actually waiting for the redo of the guest room. It will go nicely with the new bedding I bought. Dave just has to get the room painted…

  5. Manda – LOL – hope I didn’t come off as jerky. I just really never have seen any of my quilts in action! (Except the one I made for us, anyway.) I’m glad there’s a plan to put it to good use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

