All this, and I get to pay to shop there!

I have a serious love/hate relationship with Costco.

For those of you who don’t have one in your area, Costco is a big warehouse store, akin to Sam’s Club or BJ’s (what WERE they thinking when they picked that name?!?).

Costco, 95% of the time, rocks my world.   They have a 3-pack of 1% organic milk for $7.99.   They have great store-brand diapers.  You can get a roasted whole chicken for $5.  Pineapples are usually $2.99.  The Costco near us also sells gas, which regularly is 20-30¢ cheaper than the other purveyors.  Costco also had big shopping carts, with two kid seats where any other shopping cart I’ve ever come across only has one, thus allowing me to contain both kiddos in full view.  Employees there are generally helpful and friendly and seem to like working there, which upgrades the shopping experience.  Oh, I could go on.  But I won’t because this is probably already getting sort of boring.  So I won’t even get started on the $1.50 giant-hot-dog-and-a-drink meal.

Occasionally Costco irks me.  I dislike the whole concept of paying-for-the-privilege to shop there, or anywhere really.  Note I don’t dislike it enough to let my membership lapse in protest or anything… so I must not mind it too badly.  Then there was the time I wanted to change my address after we moved.   I find, when I have two kids in tow, I get abnormally vexed at anything that wastes my time.  (Like last week in Bed, Bath, & Beyond when the girl forgot to ring in my 20% off coupon and I had to spend extra time there while they adjusted the purchase?  Super vexing!)  Anyway, I wait in the customer service line with both my kids to get my address changed, as I suspected we weren’t getting the coupon books from Costco we’d grown to anticipate and love, and the 14 year-old working customer service informs me that I need proof that my address changed to change my address.  Because, you see, fraudulent folks change their address so that someone else with a different address can be on the account, and then they change the address back once the non-household person comes in to get their membership card.

In theory, yes, I understand how this might be slightly troublesome to Costco.  Like, OMG, someone is trying to defraud you for the PRIVILEGE of shopping in your store and SPENDING MONEY buying the things you sell?  For shame!!  It is vexing to me, however, to stand in line at customer service, two small children in tow and being as cheerful as can be expected to have to be in line doing nothing (i.e. not cheerful at all) and then to have Zitty McOrthodonture tell me he can’t change my address for me because I might be trying to rip off his esteemed employer.  However, if I would just come back with a bank statement or something else with my address on it, then no problem!  (Now normally, yes, my driver’s license would have my address on it… but you assume that Frank and I have actually gotten around to getting new driver’s licenses and re-registering our cars in New York state.  And you would be mistaken.)

Whatever.   I hope he enjoyed his little power trip.

So, with all this high-level security in place, imagine my surprise when Costco must have been notified by the ever-reliable U.S. Postal Service that we had submitted a change-of-address form with them.  And a couple days ago I got a big coupon book in the mail from Costco, with all my beloved coupons, and with my new address on them.

One response to “All this, and I get to pay to shop there!

  1. I love Costco too! Wish they wouldn’t delete so many great items. I recently bought the ecos laundry soap there and just found out they are deleting it. Back to whole foods!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

