The return of the family dinner

As mentioned previously, my husband is an actuary.  Worse, he’s still sort of an underling actuary, so he does a lot of work.  And he does a lot of studying.  And he’s a night owl, so he doesn’t get into work until 9:30 or so every day, which means it’s rare for him to walk in the door at night before 8:00.  Often he’s home to help with bedtime, but not often enough.  So more often than not the kids and I eat dinner before he gets home, and he reheats leftovers.

I know part of the issue is that he’s a workhorse and he likes working and not necessarily that he always NEEDS to be there late every day, so I asked him if we could decide on two days where he would try his best to get home by 7:30 or earlier, so that I could plan a dinner to be ready at 7:30 and we could all eat together.  That’s a little later than the kids are used to eating but I figured with a well-timed snack they could manage.  We agreed on Mondays and Wednesdays for our family dinners.

Well, Monday we both forgot.  Oops.

Yesterday, though, I reminded him, and he got home at 7:40.  I’ll take it for now.  We all sat together at the kitchen table and ate baked ziti, and had real conversation and stuff.   And he even did the dishes afterwards!  I’ll definitely take that. Hopefully it’s a practice we can keep up with, and who knows, maybe he’ll find he likes being home with his family and he’ll manage to make it home earlier and more often.

Or maybe we’ll drive him nuts and drive him away.  But I hope not.

One response to “The return of the family dinner

  1. Welcome to the world or actuaries. I have learned from my husband, also an actuary, that the work never stops. I have been to social dinners where there have been more than one actuary and the conversation at the table is all about actuarial work.

    Keep plugging away at the family dinner dates. Family dinners are always improved by the presence of an actuary (my husband is reading over my shoulder so I felt compelled to say that).

Leave a Reply

