Ollie Ollie Oxen Free!

I got tagged by my friend Good Fountain. It was fun reading about her! So here goes! My turn! Exclamation point!

The rules of this tag:
A. The rules are posted at the beginning
B. Answer the questions about yourself
C. Tag 5 people, let them know in a comment on their blogs that they have been tagged.
What were you doing 10 yrs ago?
Ten years ago, I was 22. I was in my senior year of my undergraduate studies at the University at Albany. I was majoring in psychology, but just about then had decided I really didn’t want to pursue a graduate degree in psychology, but with a bachelor’s in psychology I wasn’t going to land any stellar jobs, so I had decided about then to get a master’s in business so I spent a lot of my senior year taking business classes vs. psychology classes. I did my senior “psychology” independent study as a recruiting project for the School of Business, signed off on by a professor who was friends with the industrial psychologist who taught in the business school. I was living with my friend Amanda in a two-bedroom third-floor walk-up apartment in a building with tons of character but a serious need for a rehab. Frank and I were dating, pretty seriously. We spent most nights together in that walk-up apartment, he had a key and a toothbrush there.
My mom was still alive. That’s sort of weird to think about. About now, ten years ago, we were planning a weekend trip to New York City together. We were coming into our own as adult friends and it felt really good. We went to NYC together in June, we went to a show, went to The Met (art, not opera), I took her on the subway which made her nervous, so we took buses the rest of the weekend. We got tipsy together, not as mother and daughter but as two women enjoying each other’s company and having a great time in what may be the coolest city in the world. It’s a weekend I’ll never forget.
Snacks I enjoy:

  • Tortilla chips and salsa
  • Doritos
  • Grapes
  • Apples & caramel dip
  • Crusty bread and spinach-cheese dip that I make myself, I shall blog the recipe someday, it is wicked easy and crazy delicious.

Five things on my to-do list today:
This meme assumes I have a to-do list. Ha! But if I DID have a to-do list, things on it might be:

  1. Empty the dishwasher and load it back up again
  2. Get me and the kids dressed (yes it’s nearly noon and we’re still all in PJs)
  3. Maybe go and submit the application for the part-time job I’m mulling
  4. Go to the in-laws’ for dinner
  5. Leave Lane at the in-laws’ for a sleepover tonight.

Things I would do if I became a billionaire:
Now, I’m going to assume for the purposes here that I instantly have a billion dollars, just dropped in my lap, to do with as I please.

First, like $100 million straight to charities.

Next, $800 million goes into investments. Some stocks, mostly those that pay a strong consistent dividend, so I can claim the income as capital gains. Some probably into an annuity or two, to pay a consistent income for as long as we can expect to live. Maybe $15 million earmarked for each kid for when they turn 25, plus another $15 million in annuities for them to pay out over the next 15 years from when they turn 25 to when they turn 40. Enough to ensure their comfort, not enough that they get to romp around like Paris Hilton. If they are smart, this $30 million each should be all the money they ever need. If they aren’t smart, well, they just got the world’s most expensive schooling.

So now I have $100 million left. Maybe about $30 million is gifts – some for my dad, my brother, my in-laws, my husband’s family in the Czech Republic (two half-sisters and a few much-adored cousins), other assorted relatives and friends. Not enough to make any of them crazy-rich but enough to make their lives much more comfortable.

The remaining $70 million left is near-term living & fun money. The requisite upgrading of residence and cars. Residence-wise I think we need 4; nice big house right around where we live now, lake house in the Adirondacks, skiing place someplace western (Frank and his family are into skiing, I can physically do it but I can take it or leave it… though with a lot more money I would definitely take more of it), and then something small someplace warm and sunny, like a condo in Florida. We’d have to spend some time shopping around for that one. 🙂 No huge places to be sure — well, our main residence around here would definitely be pretty big (but not overly extravagant). But the other three, just big enough for the few weeks a year we’d spend there, with the requisite family and friends that would hopefully use us and join us.

3 bad habits:

  1. Eating too much
  2. Not exercising enough
  3. Probably too much internet

5 places I have lived:

  1. Cheektowaga, NY
  2. Albany, NY
  3. Morristown, NJ
  4. Hunterdon County, NJ
  5. Rockland County, NY

Jobs I have had:
This list is pretty inclusive.

  • Paper girl
  • Lifeguard
  • Retail clothing sales
  • Retail boating supply store cashier
  • Waitress
  • Bank Teller
  • Graduate Assistant (advised undergrad students)
  • Training Development Intern for a non-profit
  • HR Analyst
  • Stay at Home Mom

Things people don’t know about me:

  • I won a big spelling bee in sixth grade.
  • I dove off a cliff once.
  • I tried to have my dad arrested once.
  • I almost died of something called Henoch-Schonlein Purpura when I was in kindergarten. For most people it’s not a super serious thing, but my case was one with every complication.
  • I have hitchhiker’s thumb.

So that about does it. So now, five people? This might be difficult. Maybe I’ll pick on a couple random strangers in the blog world. Ha Ha!

  • I know very little about Normal Boy, so he gets tag #1.
  • Island Mama, because I love her and everyone else should know more about her.
  • I’m just starting to read Mrs Macheide‘s blog, so I would love to get to know her better.
  • Daisybones, because she’s having a weird eye problem and if you’re having a weird eye problem, there’s nothing more you need than a meme, right? RIGHT?!?
  • Michelle at Adventures of a Supermom. I haven’t even read her blog yet, but I could have written her list of favorite books/authors so I think it’s safe to say I’ll be reading more! And she seems pretty cool and down-to-earth, two things I hope other people think about me.

All right! Whew! All done!

Just a note — by the time I was done with this meme, the kids were dressed. I’m still in my jammies.

One response to “Ollie Ollie Oxen Free!

  1. Fun stuff to read! I actually learned some new things about you!

Leave a Reply

