Seven Random/Weird Things About Me Meme

Memes are perfect filler for while I’m out of town. BeThisWay tagged me so here goes!

Here are the rules:

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog. Some random, some weird.
3. Tag up to 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

Well, since I’m on vacation it doesn’t feel fair to assign anyone work. So, consider this a volunteer opportunity. Use it if you need filler, and let me know if you do it because I want to read!!

So here goes:

  1. There is a seven year baby pattern in my family; specifically, on my mom’s side. It started when my aunt Carolyn was born. Then seven years later I was born. Then seven years later my brother was born. Then seven years later Carolyn had her daughter, Kayla. Then seven years later Carolyn should have had a baby but she had a miscarriage (and thus my cousin Ben was born on an off year). Then seven years later I had Lane. Thus, SOMEONE is going to have a baby in 2011. (Well, obviously, LOTS of people will have babies in 2011… but you know what I mean.)
  2. I am an awesome fake bunter (or at least I was when I played high school/college softball).
  3. I’m certified to coach high school sports in NY state. (This means I have 9 college credits in coaching theory and injury prevention/treatment. To make my certification current I’d have to retake an advanced first aid course.)
  4. I can pop my ears at will.
  5. I totally screwed up my driving test. I messed up parallel parking, the three-point turn, and I sped through a school zone (I totally didn’t see the sign for it). But the tester gave me second chances on all of it (and for parallel parking I needed a third chance) and he still passed me. And I didn’t bribe him or anything! It was very bizarre.
  6. I love gerbils. I had gerbils for pets all through high school and college, and always had a pair that would breed because I LOVED LOVED LOVED the babies. Pet stores were always happy to take the babies off my hands and sell them. I can’t wait until the kids get to the age where they want little critter pets because we are totally getting gerbils again. If you’re thinking of getting little critter pets, I cannot recommend gerbils enough. They are nice and gentle (unlike hamsters, mean things they are!) and you only have to clean their cages once a month (unlike hamsters that require a weekly cleaning). Gerbils are desert animals so they don’t drink much water, their poop is very dry and they barely urinate at all, which is why they are so non-smelly. They are social and they don’t bite and they do all the cute things that hamsters do (except they don’t have cheek pouches to fill with food like hamsters do). Some people don’t like gerbil tails but I think they are cute – much better than mouse & rat tails that have no hair on them.
  7. My aunt Carolyn (recall, only seven years older than me, so she was always like a big sister who didn’t live with us rather than an aunt) and I once played a practical joke on my brother (seven years younger than me) where we recorded scary voices on his tape recorder, then put it on play and hid it in his closet at bedtime when he was like 6.
One response to “Seven Random/Weird Things About Me Meme

  1. I didn’t know that about gerbils. I think I will get Ben one or two.

    I told Kayla I was NOT going to be a Grandma until I turn 50 so hopefully it will be you or Mark having a baby in 2011. I can’t encourage Kayla just to keep the 7yrs thing going. 🙂 Can I? JK Ok when i’m 49. That’s fair.

    Poor Mark…I/we were so mean. But he must have been younger than 6 cuz that would have made me 20. Now that I think about it it was when Nana died and we stayed with you so I was 17 or 18 and that makes Mark 3 or 4. OMG I was allowed to raise children.

Leave a Reply

