Back on the wagon

My in-laws got a coupon thing to give to other people to join their gym – $20 sign-up and $10 a month.  Sort of one of those deals that simply are too good to pass up, so they watched the kids for me today (and are, in fact, still watching the kids) and I went and signed up me and Frank, and then I ran a couple errands kid-free (ahhh) and then went back and did 45 minutes on the treadmill.

Now it’s not like I’ve gotten no exercise the last few weeks.  I’ve jogged the neighborhood a couple times.  We did a lot of walking in Aruba.  I did the March of Dimes walk last weekend (in a very very hilly neighborhood — whoever planned that route needs to be beaten with a stick).  And I have my uber-awesome (I’m only being slightly sarcastic there) Kathy Smith kickboxing video that I do once or twice a week.

So, getting on the treadmill wasn’t painful today, thank goodness.  I planned to do half-lap intervals, where I’d jog a half-lap then walk a half-lap.  Repeat, etc.  I did work up a good sweat… but no big surprise there, I come from a long line of people who sweat profusely (Hi Carolyn!).  But when I was done, I didn’t feel like crying or curling up in the fetal position so I’ll take it as a good sign that I’m not in awful shape, cardiovascularly-speaking.

I’m not quite sure where I am in my quest to drop 37 pounds.  Last I’d checked, I was down about 5.  I haven’t weighed myself in awhile, much to the chagrin of the Weight Watchers online site.  Well, they probably don’t care, I pay them whether I log in or not.  I need to start tracking my eating again.  I was on a roll, then I got lazy about it.

OK, I need to go pick up the kids, the in-laws have a dinner party they need to get ready for.  Ciao!

One response to “Back on the wagon

  1. Thanks. I appreciate you sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

