VPs for your consideration

I’d said it to my husband before either VP pick was made: for me, the VP pick is so much more important for this election.  McCain’s 72 with a history of melanoma, so while he certainly seems healthy and carts his 90+ year-old mother around the country with him to convince others of his longevity (even though his dad died when he was like 69 or something like that), the chance of his VP needing to step in is a very real possibility.  I think the same goes for Obama.  I hate to even think about it, or feel like I need to think about it, but he’s African-American and there are a lot of very hateful people in this country.  It wouldn’t shock me if he were the subject of a greater-than-average assassination attempt rate.

I do hope as folks, especially undecided folks, consider the choices this fall, that they will really consider the VPs, also.  Their viewpoints, their experience, their politics, their integrity.  Maybe you like Sarah Palin better, or maybe you think Joe Biden holds the advantage.  Either way, whoever wins, I think we stand a more-than-minuscule chance of seeing one of these VPs needing to step in for the President, and maybe not too far into the future.  I hope, if you’re undecided, you’ll watch that VP debate with great interest this election; I feel like it’s a much more significant part of the choice for this race than it has been in the past few elections.

One response to “VPs for your consideration

Leave a Reply

