Can’t you take a hint?

Kitchenaid has this lovely accessory for their stand mixers — it’s a bowl you can use with it to make ice cream.

It came out a couple years ago, and I’ve wanted one since I first discovered it.

I’ve told Frank, repeatedly, I’ve wanted one.  I’ve talked about how fun it would be to make cinnamon ice cream to serve with the apple pie I make for Thanksgiving.  I have dropped subtle yet consistent hints that this would be a total winner of a gift for me.  I want it.

Yet, somehow, the man who I married, who is in nearly every other way is A Very Smart Man, has repeatedly ignored, blocked out, forgotten or otherwise discarded these hints.  Birthdays, Christmases, anniversaries, Valentines’ Days, Arbor Days, Breast Cancer Awareness Weeks, March of Dimes Walk-a-Thons have come and gone and I still do not have this frigging ice cream bowl.

The obvious solution would be to buy it for myself.

But the MOMENT I do that, I will be scolded for “not saving anything” for him to buy for me and how will he ever come up with a gift idea NOW???

So I am stuck.  I want desperately to make my own ice cream, yet I lack the necessary tool.

I suppose I have done it unto myself.  Hints do not penetrate that cranium of his very easily, so by hinting so subtly, I have only created my own situation.

I have thus resorted to more direct approaches.

********************************

Him:  Where are we going to spend Christmas?

Me:  I don’t care, as long as I can make my own ice cream when I get there.

********************************

Me:  What do you want for Christmas?

Him: I don’t know.

Me:  I desire the ability to create creamy frozen confections at-will.

********************************

Him:  Where’s the remote?

Me:  I want the Kitchenaid ice cream maker for Christmas.

Maybe I should use signage too.

4 responses to “Can’t you take a hint?

  1. I am literally laughing out loud at this.

    Frank, I fear for your safety if the sun rises Christmas Day and there is nit a KITCHENAID MIXER Ice Cream maker under the tree.

    Please do not leave your children fatherless.

  2. Find a catalog that offers said item. Call Kitchenaid if necessary. Put catalog, with page opened, item circled, “I want this!” under his pillow tonight. Tomorrow, in the sock drawer. Next day, driver’s seat of his car. Etc. You get the idea. And he will too.

    Works every time, even for the truly Gift-Impaired 🙂

    Yum! I think I want me one too!!

  3. Hit him over the head with a plain mixing bowl. Let him know that he won’t get hit if you get the ice cream maker.

    If that doesn’t work, go with Fraught’s idea.

  4. Heck I’m having the same problem getting the kitchen aid to start with!

Leave a Reply

