Life at its awesomest

Everyone has the cliché best-moment-of-their-life stories.  The day they got married, the birth of their babies, stuff like that.

I was reminded recently of a moment that I have, an awesome, top of the world moment that is completely not run-of-the-mill.

My best friends and I went to see The Complete Works of Shakespeare (Abridged) off-Broadway, maybe six or seven years ago.  (Which, if you ever have the opportunity to see this show, do it.  It’s hilarious.)  The show is very audience-participation-heavy with the actors in the aisles of the theater as much as they are onstage, and since Amanda and Cari and I are a bit, well, let’s call it feisty when we’re together, and we were sitting right on an aisle, we got a lot of attention from the actors.  They talked to us during the show and sat on us and laid across us and it was very funny.  Well, a part came in the show where they pulled a bunch of people on-stage to re-enact Ophelia’s inner angst at all the crap going on in her life, and I was one of the people pulled on-stage.  Some of the other people ‘volunteered’ were supposed to do stuff to just generally create a cacophony of noise and chaos, to duplicate everything going on in Ophelia’s brain and life, and then I was Ophelia.  At the apex of the mayhem, I was just supposed to scream.  So I did – and not one to shirk a responsibility, I screamed.  Oh, did I scream.  As long and loud and powerfully as I could.  To my complete surprise, my scream roused a standing ovation from the entire theater.  And this wasn’t a small theater, it was nearly the size of a regular Broadway theater.  I’d never really been the personal target of such applause before.  In sixth grade I won the school-wide spelling bee, and got a bit of lackluster sixth-grade applause for that, but I’d never just stood on a stage and had a wave of clapping and hollers and a sea of people on their feet cheering for *me*.   It was, in a word, exhilarating.  It created a wave of euphoria and adrenaline that only giving birth to my kids has duplicated.  And as such, it stands out as one of the more awesome moments of my life.

Do you have a moment like that?  I would love to hear about it!

4 responses to “Life at its awesomest

  1. Definitely go see The Complete Works of Shakespeare (Abridged) if you ever get the chance. We were laughing so hard we were actually crying.

    Lisa, you failed to mention that you ruined that bit for them. The audience member playing Ophelia was supposed to be a bit timid, and only give a half-hearted scream, at which the actors urge Ophelia to try again. Well, they did not expect to have that scream performed spot on perfectly the first time around, and had to scramble a little bit to change dialogue to match! It rocked!

    That troupe does a few other plays I would love to see. http://www.reducedshakespeare.com/shakespeare.php The American History one came to a theater near us, but for some reason, we weren’t able to go.

    As far as my own life affirming events, other than the birth of my daughter, I’ll have to think about it.

  2. Your most recent blog about important moments in your life is wonderful!

    -Lillian
    http://www.fieldreport.com

  3. oh, i WISH i had a moment like that! unfortunately, i’m very reserved, especially in public, unless i’m well drinked. yes, that’s a word. sure it is.

Leave a Reply

