My sprouts

I haven’t written much about the kids lately, what with the utter and total domination a few other men had in my blogging life lately.

Lane started pre-K. It is safe to say that she likes it.  In fact, I think it’s entirely safe to say that she loves it immensely and seems to be a great fit for her.  She took a little time warming up to her teachers (she has two, a main teacher and an assistant — 2 teachers for twelve kids — how’s that for an awesome student:teacher ratio!?), which wasn’t surprising because she will rarely if ever speak to someone new, but this week she started talking to them directly and telling me about them.  She warmed up to all the kids right away, and already seems to have forged some friendships, at least from her point of view.  (I tend to look at these early ‘friendships’ with skepticism, until I have proof the friendship is requited.  When Lane was in day care, another girl must have thought Lane was her best friend and constantly talked to her mom about Lane, and her mom would see me and gabber on about what great friends our daughters were… but Lane never, ever talked about her daughter as a close friend.  Eek… it was awkward.)  Anyway, she looks forward to going, she seems disappointed when the weekend arrives, she freaks out if she thinks we’re going to be late, and she doesn’t show an ounce of separation anxiety when I drop her off every day.  But on the same token, she’s excited to see me when I pick her up and tells me all about stuff she did that day.  It just feels so great and healthy and normal and she just seems so well-adjusted to it all, after only a couple of weeks.

And Jake — he just continues in his complete and total awesomeness.  He’s always happy.  Always.  We went to the playground today, and I had a conversation with another mom that I must have a couple times a day when we’re out and about…

Other person:  He’s so cute!  He’s so happy!

Me:  Thank you!

Other person:  Is he always this happy?

Me:  Yep, he really is.

Other person:  Wow!

Man, it grows tiring having to tell strangers how awesome my kid is.  Eh, no, not really.  I love it.  😀

His communication is growing by leaps and bounds, too.  We’ve lost track of how many words he knows, it’s definitely in the hundreds now.  And he’s packaging them in three word sentences.  We had a stellar family dinner tonight watching Mulan and eating delivered pizza, and after Jake finished the slice of pizza I gave him, he carried his plate over to me, pointed at it, and said, “Want pizza!”

Then there’s his exuberance, his pure joie de vivre, which is just so abounding.  Everything is so fun and exciting for him, it helps to inject a little more enthusiasm for everyone.  My in-laws and Frank’s aunt and uncle are all in the Czech Republic for the month, so we’ve been unburdening their vegetable gardens of any additional vegetative output.  My in-laws’ garden hasn’t been very productive of late; I think my father-in-law sort of let it go a couple weeks before they left on vacation, and it never was doing great before then, either.  But Frank’s uncle’s garden is amazing.  It’s the size of my living room at least, and the dozen tomato plants and half-dozen pepper plants in it are all at least seven feet tall.  I ended up with so many tomatoes after my first haul I had to make a big batch of homemade salsa to use them all (which might I say turned out delicious).  Anyway, the whole point of me telling about all this is because the couple times we’ve gone to pick veggies, the second I put Jake down after taking him out of the car, he makes a beeline toward their garden yelling “APPLE!  APPLE!  APPLE!”  (He thinks that anything remotely resembling an apple is an apple… and apparently anything remotely tasting like an apple, too, since it was up until a week ago that bananas were also apples.  Now they are “nanas”.)

Ahh, they are cute ones.

4 responses to “My sprouts

  1. Hi!
    Hope you dont mind me commenting, I found your blog through the family tag on WordPress.
    My oldest little boy started nursery last week too, today has been the first day that Ive dropped him off and he’s not cried….. Its such a good feeling when they settle and you dont have to worry about wether they will enjoy themselves and if they will be happy isnt it?
    My other (Extremely clingy) little boy also started pre school a week last monday ago and seems to have settled straight into it! No tears, just stories about what he’s been doing and his new “Friends”
    My oldest has glue ear and didnt speak properly until he was over two years old. It wasnt until last week while watching a video from about 14 months ago, that I realsied just how bad his speach really was before he started his speach therapy, we were lucky if we managed to understand him saying Mummy and Daddy.
    Just wanted to say hi really and it was nice to know someone else was going through a similar situation…

  2. What a wonderful update. I’m glad Lane is loving school and making friends. Charlotte has only been 3 days (due to our dumb power failure) but she is telling me about two of the other girls in class already. I’m so relieved.

    Jake sounds so stinking adorable!! I wish I could see in person his joie de vivre!

    How’s nursing going?

  3. Hi Nemma! I never mind new commenters. Glad you found me! 🙂 My daughter is my ‘clingy’ one, so I know exactly where you’re coming from. My mother in-law was certain I did something to make her such a mama’s girl… but now that my son’s here, and is really just the complete opposite from his sister in nearly every way, I think they’ve realized that Lane is just Lane and would be the way she is no matter what I did or didn’t do.

    As far as the nursing… it’s going. It’s actually not bad at all. He really only nurses at night (once or twice) and before naps or bedtime. Our only small issue is that he somehow chipped his front tooth. You can barely tell it’s chipped unless you look closely, but it’s like wicked sharp now. Ouch. As far as his dental health I don’t think it’s an issue at all, but I am tempted to take him to the dentist just to get it smoothed and dulled a bit.

  4. They sounds like they’re being true to form, which is the absolutely perfect way for them to be.

Leave a Reply

