I am a DIY goddess

I just spent over six hours tiling our downstairs hallway.  Our downstairs, as we live in a raised ranch, consists of a laundry room, garage, bathroom, family room, and a spare bedroom.  Every room on the level enters into this smallish hallway.  All told, it’s probably 12 feet long by 4 feet wide, with one zig-zag.

When we moved in, the family room, bedroom and hallway all had this brownish-gray carpet, which was a bit stained up and the color was just dreary.  We replaced the carpet recently in the two rooms with more wall-to-wall, but significantly lighter in color.  This left the hallway with the bare commercial style flecky asbestos-containing tiles, which, in addition to just being pretty ugly, were also slippery as hell, as my ankle can attest when I came off the stairs too quickly and completely wiped out, twisting said ankle in the process.

I had previously selected and bought for the floor vinyl plank peel-and-stick tile at Lowe’s.  I cannot find the stuff I bought on the Lowe’s website, but here is a similar product, in a very similar color. (The stuff I got at Lowe’s was only 98¢ a square foot, though.)  I found myself with some free time today, as Lane took an impromptu trip to Buffalo with her Grandpa Jerry.  (Jake and I will be going in two days to rendezvous with here there, and then Friday we’ll drive to the Albany area to visit friends.)  So I started on the tile project, and between Jake playing well by himself for awhile, and then taking a 3+ hour nap, I was able to finish the whole hallway.  And might I brag, it looks pretty darned good!  The stuff was easy to install and really looks nice.  For peel-and-stick vinyl tile, at any rate.  It just needs to be trimmed out with some new quarter-round and those metal threshold things and we’ll be all set.  Yay!

6 responses to “I am a DIY goddess

  1. Hey, if you’re heading southward on Sunday and want to meet for breakfast or lunch, let me know… I’ll be at Rhinebeck.

  2. Hmm…. I think we’ll be headed southward on Saturday evening, but Rhinebeck isn’t too far northward and the kids like sheep. And the pumpkins I bought there last year were like half the cost of the pumpkins in our neck of the woods, so it would be cost effective just for that!

    Or maybe Amanda, of new mom-hood and with a cute baby, might like to venture southward to look at yarn, too, if the weather’s good. I’ll keep you posted as to what we might do.

  3. Perhaps you might take a picture and let us see!

  4. So plan is you and kids Friday night, no Frank or Bailey, to Saturday night? My aunt is coming either Sat or Sun, so let me know. (nak)

  5. I bet it looks wonderful. I hope you took the proper precautions when removing the asbestos tiles…I’m sure you did, you’re smart like that.

  6. Didn’t remove it, just tiled right over it. The floor guys who installed our carpet advised us to NEVER remove it, that it’s safer where it is than if we tried to rip it up, and we could just cover it up with whatever flooring we wanted to use.

    And Amanda… I’ll just call you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

