A can of electoral whoop-ass

Well, I did it.  I called the Board of Elections.

When I called the Board of Elections, the woman I spoke with was very very not happy about it.  Well, before I told her why I was calling, and simply said I wanted to voice a concern about something that happened at my polling place today, she assumed I was going to say something stupid, I think.  I imagine she’s handled a lot of weird stuff today.  She automatically said that any complaints need to be submitted in writing.  I said, well, let me just tell you what happened to me and you can tell me if the concern I have is legitimate and tell me what my next steps should be.

So I told the story and she was actually pretty pissed off that it happened.  She explained to me what he should have done (verbally tried to get my attention or knocking on the side of the booth) even though she also said by my story it didn’t sound like I was taking an inordinate amount of time in the booth.  She said she was going to bring up the issue to the board of commissioners just based on my verbal complaint, that that specific poll worker would definitely be talked to, and she apologized profusely that it happened.  I don’t really want the guy to get in trouble… but what he did was pretty wrong, it seems.  I’m glad I called it in.

One response to “A can of electoral whoop-ass

  1. Good for you! The poll workers need more training, and if you don’t point it out they’ll not know there’s an issue.

    Here in Florida the “booths” are completely open (at least in our county), and right up against each other. After the hanging chads of yore and complaints from last election that there was no paper trail, we had stupid 8 page ballots. And I vote in a retirement community.

    There was one poor woman who just didn’t get it, and the poll workers weren’t allowed to help her unless she signed an affidavit that she wanted help, which she didn’t understand, and they went round and round.

    Oy.

Leave a Reply

