Stuff happened, and is happening, and may or may not happen

Gosh, I suck at this blogging thing lately.  This even started as a draft two weeks ago and never got finished.

Santa Claus was good to us.   Frank got Rock Band 2 for our Wii (well, really, we all did) and I got… wait for it… a fiberglass rug for in front of our woodburning stove.

To make up for it, I’ll be getting a Motorola Droid for my birthday in six four weeks.  I have a closet case of iPhone envy.  But, I refuse to abandon our Verizon Wireless service.  It works so nicely and has always been really reliable for us, and I get a hefty discount on our bill because my old company feels no need to tell Verizon that I haven’t worked there for over two years.

I might be going back to school in the fall, or at least eventually.  I had been informed by someone who should know better that I had all the education I needed to take the tests to get certified to teach high school business.  So I got that bee in my bonnet, and started thinking about getting certified, and even started registering for the certification process, and in doing so realized I didn’t really have all the right education lined up for it.  But the bee’s still in the bonnet, and the schooling wouldn’t be too intense.  I can’t really see myself going back to corporate work, and while I love doing it, I’m not sure I have the cutthroat mentality to make my photography business be my full-time gig.  (Mostly because I don’t want to lose all my weekends to it, and I feel bad charging too much money for my work, so my income there will continue to be supplemental at best.)  However — schools that offer a line of coursework towards certification as a business teacher are few and far between!  My main choices are in Westchester county (but with a very hefty tuition price tag) or a small private college in Albany, which is somewhat farther to drive but with a much more reasonable tuition charge, and a full time option.  It would be a rough nine months, commuting to Albany (or maybe even renting a room up there to avoid some commuting) but we as a family feel like it’s a really smart choice for us, even if it takes me some time to secure a full-time position — most schools around here want substitutes that are NYS certified, and they pay decently for them.  But that’s a maybe because….

We’re also not not trying to get pregnant.  If you remember, my body is acting a little screwy, and my new midwife (who I love!) wanted me to get things checked out, even though we both theorized that it was Jake’s continual (though less frequent) nursing that was making my uterus misbehave.  Blood tests all came back with normal results, so she also wanted me to get a pelvic ultrasound, which I did last Thursday.

But let me back up just a bit.  Last Wednesday (ie., the day before the ultrasound), Frank and I had intimate relations, as married couples are wont to do.  Afterwards, he asked if I could be ovulating.  I said, “Well, I suppose it’s possible, now’s the time when I would be, if I were, but I don’t think I am.  But I suppose I might have, and if I did it would be about now.”  Once he unscrambled his brains from hearing that statement, he asked what may be the funniest question ever.  “When you have the ultrasound tomorrow, will they be able to tell we had sex?”  As in, will they be able to see his little guys swimming around?  I assured him they couldn’t (it’s not done with a microscope, after all!) but even if they could, I’m certainly not the first woman to have an ultrasound the day after having sex.  🙂

So Thursday came, and I went for the ultrasound.  I wanted to ask a zillion questions of the tech as it was happening, but she assured me she was not allowed to tell me anything of a diagnostic nature.  But I was chatty and friendly with her, and told her about having sex and Frank’s funny question, and soon enough she was pretty forthcoming about the state of my ovaries.  She started looking at my right ovary, which she described as “quite plump” and full of healthy-looking follicles (where the eggs come out).

Then she moved onto the left ovary and said, “Oh, look at that.”

OHMYGODWHAT, IS THERE A MARTIAN LIVING IN MY OVARY?  I asked, or perhaps something that sounded less batshit crazy.  “Oh no,” she said, “but it looks like you very very recently ovulated, like yesterday or this morning.”  Oh!  Well, that’s unexpected but welcome news.  She continued, “Actually, I see two follicles that look like they just ruptured.”  (For those uneducated about the workings of the female reproductive system, one follicle releases one egg; two follicles means two eggs.  Which can lead to two babies, aka fraternal twins.)

I asked, “So… not only does it look like I ovulated this month, but that I may have ovulated more than one egg?” and the panic in my voice must have been a little palpable, as I imagined telling Frank we were pregnant with twins.

She said, “Well, often, both don’t take.  But this month looks like a really promising month for you, based on what I’m seeing and that you had intercourse yesterday!  Do it again tonight just to make sure!”

OK then.

Now, she’s a tech.  I understand she wasn’t supposed to tell me ANY of what she said to me, and she might be completely wrong.  But at the same time, I have to think she’s got a fair idea of what she’s looking at.

We didn’t do it again that night.  But Frank and I aren’t panicked either.  I guess neither of us really felt the need to increase our chances beyond what seemed pretty good already.  🙂

So, right now, it’s T-minus about twelve days until I could maybe register positive on a pregnancy test.

7 responses to “Stuff happened, and is happening, and may or may not happen

  1. You can have Verizon service with an iPhone. I considered that but ended up with AT&T b/c of the hefty discount Coke gets.

    Good luck with the 12 days thing!

  2. No, you can’t. AT&T has an exclusive arrangement with Apple to be the only iPhone retailer. Plus the Verizon network uses a different network technology that isn’t compatible with the iPhone. There have been constant musings in the tech world about when the iPhone would be nonexclusive, or sold unlocked, or would be offered in a Verizon-compatible version, or if Verizon would upgrade its network to be iPhone compatible.

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/185097/verizon_prepping_for_palm_pre_iphone_reports_say.html for example.

    I’ve been following it a little. 🙂

    But I’ve been hearing good stuff about the Droid, and played with it a bit in the Verizon store, and I like that it has a hardware keyboard option.

  3. Wowie, big news on the career and baby path! I wish you much luck with both! I am looking forward to an answer on at least one very soon…. 🙂

  4. OMG!!!! I have to wait 12 days…Really?

    That’s what children are for just when you think you have somewhat of a plan… 🙂

  5. Oh. Maybe that’s when I was thinking about getting a Blackberry.

    I think so. It’s when I went to the AT&T store that I changed my mind and switched to iPhone.

    11 days now!!

  6. I woke up this morning (after watching a friend’s 8-mo-old yest) thinking about third babies, and how I’m not having one, and then my next thought was if YOU were having one yet. Now I know! Or at least I know that you’ll know soon… ooooooh!

    Yeah, as much as I think a lot of the Apple products are very trick, I have a lot of peevishness built up about their insistence on proprietary nonsense. No iPhone in my near future either, though if you think it’s getting a little crowded in the closet, that’s probably my elbow you’re feeling 🙂

  7. Amy, I am right with you with Apple products. I’ve recently decided I’m boycotting the iTunes store… mostly because I discovered the Amazon MP3 store, which is just as awesome but without the stupid proprietary nonsense.

Leave a Reply

