Bon anniversaire

I turned 32 today.  Much to my surprise… for some reason for most of January I thought I was already 32, and then I did the math.  Duh… so this is what it’s like to be old.

We are celebrating in many festive ways.  Mother Nature decided today was a good day to lay down more snow than we’ve had all winter.  Frank has a veritable booger rave going on in his face (seriously, I think his sinuses are on E), and is running and on-and-off temperature.  Because of that, my birthday festivities, supplied by my in-laws in the form of cooking us dinner and providing cake, were postponed.  Our plumbing joys have returned, bigger and badder than ever.  Flushing the toilet or really using any plumbing is thus off-limits until the plumber gets here tomorrow.   I went to the mall to escape the flu-fest in the house (I didn’t even know about the plumbing until Frank called to give me a status).  Lane managed to walk right into a table in a store and has a good bump on her forehead to show for it.  When I went back to the car the escalator to where we were parked (our mall has underground parking under the mall) was shut off, so I had to negotiate the escalator stairs with two kids and a stroller and various bags, during which my Old Navy bag ripped and vomited all my purchases all over the the stairs.

But there were some highlights.    A nice teenage boy helped me pick up the vomited clothes while the rest of the kids he was with kept Lane from scurrying off.  (Teenage boys being generally nice and doing kind things somehow renews my faith in humanity.)  I got a free birthday gift at Sephora because I’m on their mailing list.  I bought some great stuff for the kids and Frank and me for our upcoming vacation to Aruba in April.  Jake got his first pair of big boy walking shoes, because each day he chooses to walk more and crawl less.  I figure by the time his first birthday rolls around in a week and a half, crawling may more or less be a thing of the past.   He’s pretty sure of himself when he walks, but the new shoes must have felt weird and heavy and he got even more zombie-like in his gait than he normally is.  (I want to groan “BRRRAAAIIINNNSS!” every time he walks.  Sometimes I do, but usually only when nobody else is around.)  Jake also had his first foray into chicken nuggets today for dinner.  He had one and-a-half.  This thrills me to bits because Dino Nuggets, I am somewhat ashamed to admit, are a staple around here, so it opens that as a dining option for him when he won’t eat what I make for dinner.  I also got a Wii from Frank (thank you again, honey!), and I CANNOT WAIT until the kids are asleep so I can hook it up and try it out!!!!

So I didn’t get any cake, but I did have a Frosty at the mall, so that almost makes up for it.  I know my in-laws plan on supplying ice cream cake when we celebrate my birthday after Frank’s well enough to participate in the festivities.  It will probably be a Carvel cake which is totally acceptable, but I hinted that they could also get one from Cold Stone Creamery.  Oh my, if they come through on that one I will be oodles of happy.

2 responses to “Bon anniversaire

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed your day despite some little malfunctions. 32 is not old. You’ve got a ways to go yet. And, hey, Dino Chicken is always on hand in this house too. I’ve even eaten for lunch a time or two myself.

  2. Happy birthday!

    32 can be old for another year and a half. Then I’ll be 32, and it can’t be old anymore.

    And Cold Stone. Oh. My. There’s one a 20-minute drive from here now… and Gretchen works in the same plaza with it. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

